US adds nations to human trafficking blacklist

28/6/2011 -

Source: Monsters & Critics

Washington - The United States on Monday expanded the list of nations it says have failed to take adequate steps to combat human trafficking and could face sanctions under US law.


The new countries on the list include Algeria, the Central African Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lebanon, Libya, Madagascar, Micronesia, Turkmenistan, Venezuela and Yemen.


The countries already on the list were: Democratic Republic of Congo, Cuba, Eritrea, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Kuwait, Mauritania, Papua New Guinea, Saudi Arabia, Sudan and Zimbabwe.